All Trumped Up

I don’t even know if that is how you spell Trumped.  I suspect there should be a double letter  there somewhere.  I will call it artistic licence and also it fits with the theme of the post.

The theme is “Donald Trump doesn’t understand how to use words.”  Cause, he doesn’t.

I really disliked President Bush.  I could blame anything that went wrong in my life on him with in 7 degrees of association.  I can still do that.  Sometimes it involves internet research, but it can be done and it is a worthwhile endeavor, let me assure you.  I also was disgusted by his complete lack of ability to speak and sound intelligent.  I knew he MUST be smart, I kept telling myself that he was, but he refused to support it.  He was not going to give me grounds to believe it.  It was like he knew I was trying to reassure myself that the leader of the free world really was smarter than he sounded and he was not having any part of it.  Well, I didn’t think it could get any worse than him.  Then it did.

First, we have the quote that he tweeted by Mossolini and his thoughts on it.

Todd: “You retweeted a quote: “it is better to live one day as a lion than 100 years as a sheep”

Trump: “It is a very good quote. It is s a very interesting quote. I saw it, I know who said it but what difference does it make who said it? it’s a very interesting quote.”

Todd: “Do you want to be associated with a fascist?

Trump: “No I want to be associated with interesting quotes…It got your attention, didn’t it?”

Yup, it got our attention.  So did concentration camps.  Is he a toddler that will do anything to get attention?  Even if it is negative?

Also, I would imagine he uses quotes because he has a vocabulary of about 100 words.  I am curious as to how many times the man has said “very”, “Total”, “absolute”, “terrible” and “Disaster.” in this campaign. My cat has a broader vocabulary than that.

I sometimes wonder if the words that Donald Trump uses mean what he thinks they mean.  It seems like if he gets much beyond like 2 or so syllables he gets confused.  He also doesn’t seem to grasp the concept of adverbs.

He clearly has a different opinion of what leadership in the U.S. means.  Observe:

At tonight’s Fox News debate, Bret Baierconfronted Donald Trumpover former NSA/CIA Director Michael Hayden‘s recent remarks that the military would flat-out refuse to follow illegal orders of his.

Specifically troubling for Hayden was Trump saying he would want to do “worse” than torture and would want soldiers to kill terrorists’ families.

Baier told Trump the latter is explicitly illegal, but Trump insisted, “They won’t refuse. They’re not gonna refuse me. Believe me.”

Baier said, “But they’re illegal.” Trump brushed it off.

The Donald insisted, “I’m a leader, I’ve always been a leader. I’ve never had any problem leading people. If I say do it, they’re going to do it. That’s what leadership is all about.”

Well, I suppose that depends on the type of leadership you are talking about.  Since he is running for president I am going to assume he is means Democratic Leadership which is defined as follows:

“Distributing responsibility among the membership, empowering group members, and aiding the group’s decision-making process”

Oh, wait, that can’t be what he meant because that definition is no where near what he was saying.  He was saying he was going to insist that our troops go against their training and break the law.

Let me try again then.  Maybe me meant this:

Autocratic leadership, also known as authoritarian leadership, is a leadership style characterized by individual control over all decisions and little input from group members.Autocratic leaders typically make choices based on their ideas and judgments and rarely accept advice from followers.

 He must mean Autocratic Leadership.  Some examples of autocratic leaders are:

  • Genghis Khan
  • Attilla the Hun
  • Joseph Stalin
  • Adolph Hitler

Also referred to as maniacal tyrants.

Definition of maniacal

  1. 1:  affected with or suggestive of madness

  2. 2:  characterized by ungovernable excitement or frenzy :

Full Definition of tyrant

  1. 1a :  an absolute ruler unrestrained by law or constitutionb :  a usurper of sovereignty

  2. 2a :  a ruler who exercises absolute power oppressively or brutallyb :  one resembling an oppressive ruler in the harsh use of authority or power

OH, and Kings. Kings fancied that leadership style.  Like King Henry the 8.  I mean, he was a nice guy right?  Killing people and destroying stuff because he couldn’t get a divorce and re marry- he and the pope didn’t see eye to eye either…Didn’t our country begin BECAUSE we didn’t like that leadership style?  I seem to remember a couple of documents like the

Declaration of Independence

and the Constitution.

I am curious as to how Trump thinks that he personally- one person- president or not- can compel the troops stationed all over the world to break laws?  What’s he gonna do?  Put them in a time out?  Behead them?  Banish them from his kingdom? Have them shot and tossed into a mass grave?  What exactly is the punishment for refusing to follow illegal orders in the U.S.?  Oh, I think that would be nothing.  Nothing would be the answer.  So how will he MAKE them follow these orders?  Call names?  Stomp his feet?

I want to kick him in the shins.  Repeatedly.

Ok, I’m done.  This has been kicking around my head for a while now and when I bring it up to Brian he tries to play Devil’s advocate (how very fitting a phrase) and it makes me want to stab him, and I don’t want to stab HIM, I would rather stab other people, not Brian.  I love Brian.  So discussing this with him isn’t a good idea.

I’m gonna go eat some peanut butter eggs now.

2 thoughts on “All Trumped Up

Leave a Reply

