well, I burned my thumb

My hands take a lot of abuse.  Especially when I work with glass.  Especially, especially when I work with glass and the soldering iron.

I detest gloves.  As much or more as I detest shoes.  So I work on the floor barefoot and bare handed and injuries happen.  Eh, such is life.

But my thumb really hurts because I burned it with the soldering iron when my very stealth and somewhat irritating ( we are NOT having a good day) child came up behind me and startled me as I was trying to solder something very small to something else very small.  Hence, injury.  As much as I would love to blame Gabrielle for this, I can only blame myself.

Where is this going you may ask.  Good question, I’m not entirely sure myself.  However, I can tell you this.  Castor oil applied to burns works wonders.  Also, keep band aids in your work area.

In other news.  My daughter, Eve, graduated from high school a couple of weeks ago and left for Syracuse to visit my family and her father this morning.  As of this moment she is sitting contentedly in my mother’s house probably being the center of attention and having to worry about nada.  She said this morning “It’s going to be so nice flying up to Syracuse with out 3 kids hanging on me.” and it’s true.  She has flown there numerous times before and has always been responsible for AT LEAST two younger siblings and usually 3.  Not that the boys were all that much work other than the usual poor decisions, irritating behaviour and constant unnecessary talk.  Gabrielle is the real challenge and the last time they went up she managed to cause an absolute scene in security and had to be patted down.  Eve handled this with her usual dry sense of humor and unflappable calm.  She gets neither of those traits from her mother.

Yesterday was pretty productive in Shannon Land despite the usual distractions.  I brought Eve to get her shots for college before her month plus long trip to NY and learned she will have to have more things done once she is up there.  We spent an hour and a half in the department of health which is puzzling because there was only one other person there waiting.  Eve got like 3 shots.  I don’t know why this would take so long, but it did and I, for the first time in my life, did not have a book or any crochet with me.  I know, I couldn’t believe it either.  On the up side, the department of health has relocated to a more suitable facility.  It used to be in some sort of pre-fab modular trailer/ house/ box down a deserted road in the middle of the end of no where with a barren parking lot.  It was frightening.  It was a situation where you follow the directions and you come to your destination and you look up and think.  “no.” and you check the address.  You check the GPS, you check the address on the website, you check the GPS and despite your doubt and hesitation you realize that ‘yes.’. I will provide pictures because you have to see it to believe it.  Charming isn’t it?Screenshot 2017-06-15 at 12.48.12 PMScreenshot 2017-06-15 at 12.47.44 PMLuckily it has moved to a new location in an actual professional business park right up the street from our house.  Unfortunately this is not noted on the website.  Nor are the new hours.  They closed two locations, moved them to the central location near us and cut the hours each day.  But never bothered to change it.  I had learned my lesson last year that these people LIE and that the hours are not really the hours they keep and that certain locations aren’t open certain days no matter what the website or the automated phone recordings say.  So I asked Eve to be absolutely sure they are open and that is when we discovered the new venue.  For goodness sake.  At any rate, that was yesterday morning but I still managed to get all my orders done, addressed and mailed.  The very urgent ones.  I have some that people have been waiting every so patiently for that I can now actually (hopefully) finish.

Although I have wished my darling friend Kristen a happy birthday several times this week (“Isn’t today your birthday? no?  how bout now?  Now?  Happy Birthday!  Still not it huh?” ) it is tomorrow and I am still going to be late with her gift.  That takes talent.  But at least it is now done and I shall show it to the world once she receives it.  She doesn’t even know it is coming.  We don’t usually do the b’day gift thing but rather send things as we see them and know the other would like them or make them and know the other would appreciate them…but she has had a hell of a year and if anyone should celebrate the beginning of a new one it would be her.  This year.  She should celebrate it by dancing in circles and gifts and cake and candles and song.  Out with the old.  Start all new.

Oh, also, I have decided that when I get married next year (provided I get everything done that I need to make that happen) my bouquet will include stained glass flowers.  I have a vague idea of how that will work and I am hoping to maybe experiment a little today.

OH!  oh! oh! I almost forgot!  I am officially a fictious name!  Well, I am a business.  A DBA.  I have a certificate and will have a tax number and all sorts of awesomeness.  Which means I can buy and resell glass and other such awesome things.  So I am officially Brennan Art Glass.  I am an entity.  Here in Florida.  FYI, on the list of things I said I would NEVER do was ‘own my own business.’ yeah, well never say never.

Time to get some work done.  Brian is at work, Timothy is with a friend, Eve is in NY, Christian is in NY, Gabrielle is watching the most annoying show ever made for television (Jon and Kate plus 8.  Oh dear God kill me) and Molly is off doing top-secret something somewhere.  So now is the time to get stuff done.  Once I move the cats.

19093080_10214010688685494_2956265222136928254_o19143365_10214010688645493_7070482451698979851_o19223052_10214010688605492_1311075203482014454_o

Leave a Reply

